So Maybe Root Canal’s Don’t Quite Suck Anymore

Before I start this, you need to understand one thing about me. I HATE GOING TO THE DENTIST! So where was I today? The Dentist. And let me explain something. I have had very painful experiences with most dental work. This includes the time that I wasn’t numbed sufficently, and the I could feel the drilling down to my toes.Dental work to me means xx minutes of white knuckle panic and anxiety.

 I was there for a dental crown that turned into a root canal. Had it done this morning. Now it’s 5:00 PM and the novicane has worn off.

 So my question is: Has dentristry gotten better or have I been stuck with some bad dentists? The experience I had this morning was more of boredom, not pain, not anxiety. Not that I want to pay that bill again, but maybe I’m now over my fear of dentists.

2 Responses

  1. Dentists have gotten much better. I had a bad childhood of dental visits, pain and anxiety back in the 1960’s and 70’s. These days, the visits are not nearly as stressful, though I retain an atavistic fear.

    I had a crown back in 2005. The tooth was not yet dead, though, so there was a fair amount of pain. Sill not as bad as I once would have thought.

    Like

  2. I’m thinking that the younger Dentisits may have been trained better in patient/pain management. I remember reading the Doctors were being trained in that more in Medical School now. I’m not sure how it has happened, but I’m certainly glad it has happened

    Like

Leave a Reply

