Vista or Not?

As part of my day job, I am in the middle of evaluating Windows Vista and Microsoft Office 2007. Tommorow (Jan 31st) I am driving up to Philly for a Microsoft Launch event where I’m looking to get all the free stuff 🙂 I can grab.

I’ve been using Vista for a few days at work, and here are my first impressions:

  1. I now have no clue where anything is anymore.
  2. The new User Account Control (UAC) is a real pain.
  3. I doesn’t seem any faster (or slower either).
  4. I’m not sure I see the point (more on that later).

When I get back tommorow I’ll blog some more about some of my thoughts on this topic.

2 Responses

  1. Can you explain why UAC is a pain?

    Like

  2. In Windows XP, you have to be logged in as an account with Administrator privileges in order to change system settings, install software, etc. With Vista, even if you are logged in as Admin, you get a pop-up box every time the Operating System needs to use Administrator privileges. This is designed for the home user, to keep them safe from security attacks, as a lot of software/malware is installed when the end user may not really intend to install software etc. With UAC, this box (and even more so when you first get the machine as you are installing and setting up a lot of software) shows up a lot. And for some reasons that it doesn’t need to. I’m afraid that this box is so intrusive, that many home users will just turn it off. That would of course defeat the purpose of UAC. Although I understand why UAC is necessary, I think this implementation may be a bit overboard.

    Like

Leave a Reply

