The 8% Pay Cut

In the interest of full disclosure, my wife and I work for the State of Delaware. Me as a computer geek and my wife as a Correctional Officer. Yesterday, we got an email basically stating that we were going to lose 8% of our salary due to the extreme budget shortfall the State is facing this year. Here’s how it will affect me:

  • My wife and I will lose 8% of our salary (around 7000 per year)
  • My wife and I will now have to pay for our health care (probably around 200 a month for a annual cost of 2400)
  • My part-time job as computer instructor at Polytech Adult Education, already down because of the economy, will also suffer an 8% pay cut (around 400 per year)

So, do I think it’s fair? For the first bullet, I’d say yes. Although the 8% might be a bit much, doing it across the board at least touches everyone.

Losing my double state share? (That’s when if both employees work for the State don’t pay for health insurance) NO. Although this has been the target of Ron Williams of the News Journal forever, just because you’re annoyed at some State legislator whose spouse also works for the state, don’t take it out on me 🙂

My Polytech loss? NO. When I teach a class at Polytech, it is considered an enrichment class and the classes I teach, when they make, create income for PolyTech.

So what am I going to do about it?

  1. Get interviewed by the News Journal J JL Miller called me this morning and we discussed this.
  2. Although I have resisted repairing computers part time for a while, I got my business license to repair computers. Even got a website http://woodyscomputers.net
  3. You think I shopped with coupons before, you ain’t seen nothing yet J
  4. Decide on how to best cover health care for 4 year old niece who we have legal guardianship of. My son is autistic and is covered under Medicaid, so I don’t have to worry about health care for him. A possibility may include suing for child support from my nieces biological father

Honestly, we’ll be OK. I’m just not sure how some single parents who work for the State (and I talked to one of them yesterday and she was in tears) will be able to make it.

One other thing. Although I think this sucks J I give the Governor a huge amount of credit for making a decision that NO ONE likes. Hopefully this action will buy him some time and next year we won’t be in this same mess

2 Responses

  1. Hey? Can you shoot me the link to that job you were talking about. Sorry about the pay cut man.

    Like

  2. Hey, we’ll be OK. At least we got plenty of warning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

